Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: DG's Bitch Thread

Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Owner Since

Thanks

DG's Bitch Thread

...because ImperfectDarkness asked for it...

This is a thread for me to pass on some hard-won information and advice. I've been turning wrenches and racing cars for something like 25 years and learned a thing or two along the way. Reading this board, I see a lot of people making some of the mistakes and holding a lot of the misconceptions that I did when I was younger, so maybe by recording some of this stuff I can save some folks some time and money.

And my current job has lots of dead time and affords me time to do some writing.

I suppose I should start with my credentials... you know, I don't want to make to big a deal about this. I've lived a very... active... life so far, and when I put it on paper, it starts to look like bullshit because so much seems so improbable.

But here's the high points as far as this thread is concerned:

- I worked for Chrysler (later DaimlerChrysler) from 1997 until 2003. I was an IT guy, not a car engineer, but I had the run of the place and knew a lot of the engineers, so I got a really good feel for how a car company works from the inside. I watched the build progress on my Talon through an internal 3270 mainframe app that tracked manufacturing status. I also got to visit the shop floor where Vipers and Prowlers were made, I got to drive the Nurburgring in a company Mercedes convertable, and I had a gig that ran for 4 years where I'd (along with a bunch of other drivers; not just me) teach vehicle engineers how to drive Vipers and Prowlers in competition.