Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Interesting oil pressure -- VIDEO!

  1. #1
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 0 Keyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts

    Interesting oil pressure -- VIDEO!



    Essentially when I load then engine up with a bit throttle tthe pressure drops, but when i let back off, at the same rpm, the oil pressure will jump back up to normal.


    it does this on and off, not all the time, but if it's something easily corrected I'd like to fix it


    also, please no "the stock gauge is worthless anyway" posts. yeah it can be a few clicks off, but a single wire sensor feeding the gauge cant magically know when im on the throttle -- and that's consistent.

    Thoughts?
    Recertified ASE L1/L3 Master Technician
    13G's on Pump 93 tuned to 421awhp/419awtq @ 17psi tuned by Pampena Motorsports ....375awtq at 2900rpm....
    Billet 19T HL's on E85 tuned to .....?

  2. #2
    There will be Blood! verified Feedback Score 4 (100%) CoopKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1997

    Location
    In Sane!
    Posts
    4,757
    Thanks
    1,095
    Thanked 451 Times in 332 Posts
    Dents in the pan?

    Does it do it when in neutral raising RPM without load?

    Help them, for they know not that which they do not know!
    CoopKill's Mistress Makeover Thread!
    "Punk, Nutswinging, Small Time, Asshat, Monkey, Jerkoff, Loser that rides on other peoples accomplishments!" . .

  3. #3
    The one. The only. verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 14 (100%) stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 28, 2002

    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    4,011
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 682 Times in 513 Posts
    Check the wire. If its loose or corroded it can cause funky things to happen.

    [06-05, 19:29] OhioSpyderman: Brian, finding a woman is NOT the answer, you need to shop for a good VACUUM

  4. #4
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2002

    Location
    Taichung, Taiwan
    Posts
    335
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
    Might be the sender.

  5. #5
    Honda Eater Feedback Score 0 Mike-92RT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    April 2007

    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    332
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by VR-4 0wnz j00 View Post
    Might be the sender.
    agreed... Heres what mine did to me:

    driving home from my ex's house one night.


    Another day of regular driving.

  6. #6
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1999

    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'd say its your oil pressure guage. If you "really" have low oil pressure the oil pressure switch should light up a warning light on the dash. And if you are going to replace one I'd replace the other, they are right next to each other on the firewall side of the engine.

    EricC

  7. #7
    Honda Eater Feedback Score 0 Mike-92RT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    April 2007

    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    332
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
    ya, im replacing both. My gauge worked perfectly fine before i yanked my engine. Its gotta be the near 20yr old sensors lol

  8. #8
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 3000GT MR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    turn the gauge upside down. I know this sounds kind of direct but id buy an aftermarket guage for oil if i was you. Car is getting old and oil pressure is important.
    Fully Forged, 16G's ect.

  9. #9
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 0 Keyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    I agree about replacing with aftermarket. However its such a chore to yank out the 3 center gauges to replace them. And it would look weird with just 1 aftermarket and 2 normal (with one being the dud "boost" gauge). which means I should just go about replacing all 3...which quickly turns it into a 2-400 dollar adventure, and that's not in the budget right now.

  10. #10
    Forum User verified
    Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1

    Posts
    1,291
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 89 Times in 55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keyan View Post
    [video=youtube;URj3tSkhJ0M]
    also, please no "the stock gauge is worthless anyway" posts. yeah it can be a few clicks off, but a single wire sensor feeding the gauge cant magically know when im on the throttle -- and that's consistent.

    Thoughts?
    Quote Originally Posted by stealthee View Post
    Check the wire. If its loose or corroded it can cause funky things to happen.

    Getting on the throttle can vibrate the engine more especially if you have worn motor mounts. So yea, it doesn't necessarily know your on the throttle but if the engine is moving around it can move the connection to the sender. Definitely work a check. I second cleaning off the contacts and make sure it's tight.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive
Jim's (RED3KGT) Reststop
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering