Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: atx problems

  1. #1
    94 3500gt vr2? verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) n2nsanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts

    atx problems

    i recently did an engine swap which i thought went pretty well, until i found that the transmission isn't working.

    i pulled it out still attached to the engine since i was reattaching it to the new engine and it is easier to just remove or reinstall with them together
    the only fluid that leaked out is what came out from removing the axle and radiator
    i'm planning to do a flush soon, so i didn't drain it all out
    removed the tq converter from the old engine and attached to the new (i intentionally left fluid in the tq converter)
    lined up the new engine and trans and guided the trans onto the engine slowly and carefully, it looks like it can't go on the wrong way as the shaft is notched on the sides.
    bolted atx and engine together and dropped them in
    put the axles back in, connected atx to radiator lines and all electrical connectors

    i added 2 quarts of fluid as soon as i got it back in before starting it
    after starting, ran through gears and added another quart or two
    it's now reading full, but still not working

    there is a faint buzzing sound (sounds electrical to me) when it's in any gear except for park or neutral

    i'm hoping theres something just not connected or loose somewhere
    i already checked all connectors on the trans and the entire engine bay for that matter. nothing unaccounted for

    any ideas? what should i check first?

    thanks
    __________________________________________________


  2. #2
    The one. The only. verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 14 (100%) stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 28, 2002

    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    4,044
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 693 Times in 523 Posts
    The torque converter needs to be set in the trans first, not bolted the the engine. My guess is the torque converter is not completely set into the trans pump on the trans. Its possible to put bolt it together without the converter being set right. If its not set into the pump, then the trans can't pump fluid and wont move.

    [06-05, 19:29] OhioSpyderman: Brian, finding a woman is NOT the answer, you need to shop for a good VACUUM

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to stealthee For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) RealMcCoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2001

    Location
    Medford OR
    Posts
    1,425
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 600 Times in 302 Posts
    The proper procedure is to have the converter fully installed in the trans before mating to the engine, then bolt the converter to the flexplate afterwards. It's extremely easy to break the pump gears doing it the way you did...

    Before you jump to that conclusion though, set the brake, and put it in neutral to check the fluid. It may still be low.


    Real Performance Automotive (541)816-4500 www.FB.com/RealPerformanceAuto

  5. #4
    94 3500gt vr2? verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) n2nsanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    so i messed up? could i have done harm?

    what about that buzzing noise i hear?

    when i was putting it on, i aligned it with the shaft
    notches on sides looked kind of like this (\\)
    11 or 5 oclock position

    i'm so used to working on 5spds, it just seemed like the proper way to install it. although much trickier trying to get those tq converter bolts off through that little hole

  6. #5
    94 3500gt vr2? verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) n2nsanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    already checked fluid in neutral and in park
    a few times...

    i hate atx's, so much more stuff to deal with
    worst case scenario, i hosed destroyed a very expensive transmission
    i was really looking forward to trying this thing out
    i've never driven a car with a shift kit before, or a highstall tq converter, or an lsd for that matter...

    at least i still have the full 5 speed conversion
    would take me at least another week to get that done

  7. #6
    Now with more poop-smear Not Verified Feedback Score 8 (100%) IPD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Not Anymore

    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6,673
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    484
    Thanked 548 Times in 394 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by n2nsanity View Post
    already checked fluid in neutral and in park
    a few times...

    i hate atx's, so much more stuff to deal with
    worst case scenario, i hosed destroyed a very expensive transmission
    i was really looking forward to trying this thing out
    i've never driven a car with a shift kit before, or a highstall tq converter, or an lsd for that matter...

    at least i still have the full 5 speed conversion
    would take me at least another week to get that done
    sounds a lot like the reason some people shy away from forced induction.

    what specifically do you mean when you say "it's not working". (assuming it's built correctly) since it has a high-stall, you may need more gas to get it in motion. have all the plugs on the TCU been connected? are you running a tt-ecu--if so, have you modified it to properly work with the tcu? are you getting any engine codes? are the electronics on the transmission native to the 3/s; or are they from a different car (and what year/trim are they from)? shooter83 (evan) never tried using my new trans with the diamante electronics that it came with; so it's hard to say for certain if that could be a problem. it works perfectly with the stuff swapped over from my OEM 95 3kgt trans.

    it might also be possible that the mechanicals are fine, and it's simply an electrical issue. if that's the case, you could also try the IPT manual-shift option.

  8. #7
    94 3500gt vr2? verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) n2nsanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    should be all original electronics
    i bought this car from another member
    had a blown motor
    i bought it because i was wanting to see what the 3.5 and built atx could do together
    he said trans was fine before engine died
    i didn't seen any metal shavings in the fluid that came out

    i'm going to go with either (hopefully something electrical is loose) or i need to pull the trans back off and install the tq converter inside the trans first
    and hopefully i didn't destroy anything

    noone knows what that faint buzzing sound is when i put in any gear but park and neutral?

  9. #8
    Now with more poop-smear Not Verified Feedback Score 8 (100%) IPD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Not Anymore

    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    6,673
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    484
    Thanked 548 Times in 394 Posts
    i really can't say for certain. i don't have any experience with a built f4a33/w4a33, so i wouldn't be able to venture a guess. the DSM guys might be able to help you pinpoint what that is much better than the 3/s guys.

    atx's don't just "not work". they'll limp; but it's VERY VERY rare to have one simply not do anything (worst case, they'll do 3rd gear and nothing else--not even reverse). from what i've seen in my years around the forums, the problem most definitely seems to be electrical--since you can't seem to get any type of response out of it. that...or as brian suggested, you've installed the converter incorrectly. afaik, the only proper way to install the transmission is 100% intact; converter already in the trans.

    i know there's breakdown manuals for the f4a33/w4a33 online. if you need to find one...let me know and i'll see if i can find the link.

  10. #9
    94 3500gt vr2? verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) n2nsanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    another thing i like about this site
    5 views and several replies
    on the other site, 25 views and 0 replies....

  11. #10
    Forum User Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1999

    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
    ATXs will definitely not work without fluid in the right spots. There's no mechanical connection between the engine and atx, its just fluid. I busted a line while driving and lost most of my fluid and the atx absolutely did nothing. I could rev it as high as I wanted and the car wouldn't move in any gear. I had to push it off the road. It was fine afterwards. My no-go situation was because either the torque converter didn't have enough fluid in it or fluid wasn't getting to the valve body.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive
Jim's (RED3KGT) Reststop
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering