Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Spyder Hydraulic Hose HELP!!! Same one keeps busting.

  1. #1
    Member verified Feedback Score 6 (100%) dbest671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,035
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 151 Times in 102 Posts

    Exclamation Spyder Hydraulic Hose HELP!!! Same one keeps busting.

    My car is at the shop being repainted in some areas. I stopped by today to be
    informed that there was a hydraulic leak somewhere. By the amount of hydraulic
    fluid he described, I believe one of the hoses has busted again.

    We have replaced the same hose at least 4 times now. Two were craptastic ones
    to just get us by. But the last two were OEM. Is there something I am missing
    to be busting the same line? It is the pink hydraulic line going to the RH
    tonneau cylinder. We bled the system each time we replaced any hoses and
    refilled with aeroshell. I only seem to be having problems with the passenger
    side hoses for the right side of the tonneau cover.

    Thanks for any help,
    April

  2. #2
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2000

    Posts
    1,249
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 90 Times in 63 Posts
    have you auto configured the system after you replaced the hose ?

    http://www.3sx.com/faq/manuals/Servi...Supplement.pdf
    Last edited by mb7050; 09-13-2010 at 03:53 PM.

  3. #3
    JNS Engineering verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) Jimvr4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1994

    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,165
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 155 Times in 110 Posts
    Need to get Marc over on these boards. He answered this question on 3000Spyders

    Mod list (scroll down the page)
    JNS Engineering has your Spyders covered (and uncovered too!!)

  4. #4
    Member verified Feedback Score 6 (100%) dbest671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,035
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 151 Times in 102 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mb7050 View Post
    have you auto configured the system after you replaced the hose ?
    No, because I just got the cable the other day. Am I supposed to auto configure after replacing just the hoses?

  5. #5
    Member verified Feedback Score 6 (100%) dbest671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,035
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 151 Times in 102 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimvr4 View Post
    Need to get Marc over on these boards. He answered this question on 3000Spyders
    I posted the question on the Spyder group also. I don't think it is from anykind of rubbing because of the location on the bust. It looks like a hose blow-out, there is no rub marks on the hose.

  6. #6
    JNS Engineering verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) Jimvr4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1994

    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,165
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 155 Times in 110 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dbest671 View Post
    No, because I just got the cable the other day. Am I supposed to auto configure after replacing just the hoses?
    I don't think auto configuration has anything to do with hoses. It just adjusts the limits for moving the top / tonneau after mechanical changes are made.

  7. #7
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2000

    Posts
    1,249
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 90 Times in 63 Posts
    why would oem broke many times ?
    Last edited by mb7050; 09-13-2010 at 04:11 PM.

  8. #8
    Member verified Feedback Score 6 (100%) dbest671's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,035
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 151 Times in 102 Posts
    Thanks Jim for the cable also... do you want the other one back?

    Could there be something wrong with the cylinder which would cause back pressure or something? When I bleed the system everything seems to go through o.k. We have probably raised the tonneau cover at least 20 times since replacing the hose in question.

  9. #9
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2000

    Posts
    1,249
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 90 Times in 63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimvr4 View Post
    I don't think auto configuration has anything to do with hoses. It just adjusts the limits for moving the top / tonneau after mechanical changes are made.
    I dont know but i was loosing fluid somewhere and after i auto configured it it doesnt lose any fluid anymore . Im not expert here you are

  10. #10
    I'm Kind Of A Big Deal Feedback Score 8 (100%) Emilie@GZP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2003

    Location
    Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    2,436
    Thanks
    216
    Thanked 106 Times in 90 Posts
    I'll direct Hans to this thread... he may be able to help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive
Jim's (RED3KGT) Reststop
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering