Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Suggest a cliutch for 2-3 track days a month for 450 awhp, where to buy and avg cost.

Venom GT... I need a lotto ticket verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) Vince86's Avatar
    Owner Since
    March 2009

Thanks

Suggest a cliutch for 2-3 track days a month for 450 awhp, where to buy and avg cost.

Well its high time to replace stock clutch. went to track last year and it slipped/stuck a lot not allowing me a good launch. I have never done a clutch change before and know nothing of what ones are good or bad. i read about spec going downhill and this and that about others but i need good info as to what all ill need to change a clutch, where and which one I should get for my purpose.

Looking for good performance for launch and something that's not too bad on the leg but im sure ill be ok if its a little stiff. Lower the cost the better so i can spend more in other areas but i wont go el'cheapo and screw myself. I did find 316's clutch guide, seems to be ok to follow I guess but im sure ill have issues. All help is appreciated thank you guys

Also just noticed the mistype on clutch... sob
    Last edited by Vince86; 02-12-2011 at 01:59 PM.

Forum User Feedback Score 13 (100%) Austin@STM's Avatar
    Owner Since

Thanks
    I would recommend something along the lines of a ACT with a street disk, or clutch masters fx300, nothing to crazy, so it still has a good pedal without killing your leg everytime you drive. If you still have the clutch assist hooked up, they really wont be bad at all.

Spec clutches arent bad either, some people dont like them but mine never gave me issues, and i beat the crap out of it. I launched the car in second gear ( on purpose ), clutch slipped to the 1/8th mile, and it still worked after that.

-Austin@STM

-Ricer Evo 8: 8.75 @ 166 Best MPH of 167. Quickest 4G63 Powered Evo in The US!!!