Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68

Thread: Balance tube placement?

  1. #1
    -BOOSTTD- verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) mh3kgt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Elko, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    578
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts

    Balance tube placement?

    Hey guys, getting some pretty annoying surging going on at part throttle, and am going to try out a balance tube to solve it. Question is, does it really matter where the bungs are placed for the tube itself? I want to use the least amout of hose as possible to avoid cluttering my engine bay more than it already is. I've done an MsPaint drawing of where I was thinking about joining the pipes with a balance tube..what do you all think?

    Excuse the dirty engine bay and hap-hazard placement of the Ebay catchcan...trying to solve my PCV woes


  2. #2
    -BOOSTTD- verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) mh3kgt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Elko, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    578
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Anyone running a balance tube here?

  3. #3
    1st ever COTM and COTY verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) green-lantern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Owner Since
    Birth

    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    7,250
    Thanks
    654
    Thanked 459 Times in 354 Posts
    I believe they need to be mounted closer to the turbos. Most I've seen have been anyway.

    What kind of BOV are you running?

    Quote Originally Posted by HilbillyHomeboy View Post
    I bet she smells of old mustard and sawdust.
    Jeremy

  4. #4
    Member verified Feedback Score 0 DocWalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Oct '08 - Oct '10

    Location
    Royersford, PA
    Posts
    3,795
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,053
    Thanked 437 Times in 313 Posts
    I would think a balance tube there isn't going to do much because of the close proximity to the "Y", but I'll let someone with more experience answer that.
    R135
    ╚╬╬╝
    - 24

  5. #5
    -BOOSTTD- verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) mh3kgt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Elko, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    578
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    I have the Greddy S BOV. I can try adjusting the spring a bit, but I think it's pretty dialed in right now as it is. Ugh I was hoping I wouldn't have to run another ugly hose all the way across my engine bay

  6. #6
    One fix at a time verified Feedback Score 4 (100%) TurboSinceBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2004

    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    2,271
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 69 Times in 55 Posts
    Mine is located a few inches after the turbo outlet. -12AN was used. You can see where the front is at in my sig pic.
    95 RT/TT Billet TD04s E70, DW1000cc injectors, ARC-2 with 92mm maf, 3SX fuel rail loop, hotwired Walbro 416/485, 3" FMIC, single small Krank vent, DR 3.5" downpipe and cat-back, DNP 02 housings, Hallman Pro MBC, BlackStealth LCDBC, AEM wideband, AEM oil pressure, Apexi S1 coilovers with SCE EVO 8/9 adapters, 3SX adjustable control arms, Spec 3+ clutch, Maximal solids/3SX poly motor mounts, Setrab custom SMOC, stock motor 127k miles, stock drivetrain.

  7. #7
    -BOOSTTD- verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) mh3kgt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Elko, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    578
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Well I guess it wouldn't look too horrible if I used stainless lines, I just wanna try to get around having to go all the way across the engine bay.

  8. #8
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 2003

    Location
    Uniontown
    Posts
    494
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I used to have the CX racing FMIC, and it caused my surging.

  9. #9
    One fix at a time verified Feedback Score 4 (100%) TurboSinceBirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2004

    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    2,271
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 69 Times in 55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mh3kgt View Post
    Well I guess it wouldn't look too horrible if I used stainless lines, I just wanna try to get around having to go all the way across the engine bay.
    There's not much you can do about that since they need to be close to the turbos. You can route the balance tube underneath if you won't want it to be seen. You could also get black nylon line like what Russel makes so it doesn't scratch everything up and it looks stealthier.

  10. #10
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 2003

    Location
    Uniontown
    Posts
    494
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mh3kgt View Post
    Well I guess it wouldn't look too horrible if I used stainless lines, I just wanna try to get around having to go all the way across the engine bay.
    Go from the front comp, up, and under the throttle body to the rear comp housing. It would be out of sight.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive
Jim's (RED3KGT) Reststop
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering