Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: newbish question - popup headlight fuse?

  1. #1
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    newbish question - popup headlight fuse?

    Can't access 3si and search the archives right now due its just after midnight EST, lol

    Where am I supposed to be looking for a fuse that controls the headlight motors? My lights come on but don't pop up, and when put up manually they don't come down, so I assume its the fuse that controls those actions (I believe they are separate relays or something but share a fuse). Is it under the hood in the main fuse box? Is it the h.lamp doors fuse/relay? Or am I looking for something under the dash next to my left knee in that fuse box?

  2. #2
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) RealMcCoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2001

    Location
    Medford OR
    Posts
    1,425
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 600 Times in 302 Posts
    Fuse link #2 in the engine bay box.

    Any problems with other ETACS functions?


    Real Performance Automotive (541)816-4500 www.FB.com/RealPerformanceAuto

  3. #3
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    fuse link #2? ok which one of these lol:



    what are other etacs functions I could check for? haha, I'm not sure I know the symptoms of a failed unit, although I think the one in my vr4 is shot. Is that why my passenger door (on the vr4, not this car) relocks itself if you try using the key in the door? lol

  4. #4
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) RealMcCoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2001

    Location
    Medford OR
    Posts
    1,425
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 600 Times in 302 Posts
    #2 is the one labeled "HLAMP DOOR"

    Typical ETACS functions that you'd be looking for would be things like the security system and electric locks.

  5. #5
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok well I swapped some fuses and that didn't seem to do it. I also just noticed the turn signals don't work.

    I know I've seen threads just like this before haha

    no backup lights either. I think it's an interior fuse now, looks like fuse 18 or something according to a thread on the other site

    It's probably pulled so that the SRS light doesn't come on, the circuit appears to do the hazards, turns, and SRS diagnostic unit haha.....I bet I'm about to find something out about this car
    Last edited by deathsled; 11-10-2010 at 02:06 AM.

  6. #6
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) RealMcCoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2001

    Location
    Medford OR
    Posts
    1,425
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 600 Times in 302 Posts
    If you hit the lock button does the security lamp come on?

  7. #7
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    you're right, i just noticed there's no security light like in my other car

  8. #8
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) RealMcCoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2001

    Location
    Medford OR
    Posts
    1,425
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 600 Times in 302 Posts
    I'd bet money your ETACS is toast...

  9. #9
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    so what do I do? unplug it? Isn't that the popular fix? lol

  10. #10
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) RealMcCoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2001

    Location
    Medford OR
    Posts
    1,425
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 600 Times in 302 Posts
    You're thinking of the ECS... The ETACS is necessary. There's a lot of stuff that won't work without it. If it turns out it is indeed bad, you just need to replace it.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive
Jim's (RED3KGT) Reststop
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering