Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do you change the transmissin speed sensor?

  1. #1
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How do you change the transmissin speed sensor?

    I need to know how to change my transmission speed sensor with the tranny still in the car. I know you have to take the bolt out and everything but how do you get the sensor itself out the easiest? Any help or direction to a walkthrough would be appreciated. Thanks for your help with this possibly simple question
    Stealth funded by the US Army

  2. #2
    The one. The only. verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 14 (100%) stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 28, 2002

    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    4,021
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 683 Times in 514 Posts
    Pull on it til it comes out.

    [06-05, 19:29] OhioSpyderman: Brian, finding a woman is NOT the answer, you need to shop for a good VACUUM

  3. #3
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks... hoped there was something a il better than that as I tried that when I unplugged it. I even tried turning it

  4. #4
    Member verified Feedback Score 0 DocWalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Oct '08 - Oct '10

    Location
    Royersford, PA
    Posts
    3,704
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,023
    Thanked 430 Times in 306 Posts
    Wiggle it, they tend to stick in there. The gear might hold on if the gear is all trashed in there, but it should still pull out.
    R135
    ╚╬╬╝
    - 24

  5. #5
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    it seemed the gear was still good... it was the sensor itself that started smoking!!!

  6. #6
    The one. The only. verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 14 (100%) stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 28, 2002

    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    4,021
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 683 Times in 514 Posts
    Better off replacing the whole thing. I had that happen before and at first I just replaced the top half, then later on the center section that the gear spins that sends signal to the speedo stripped out.

  7. #7
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Where can I find the rest of it?

    Once you get the whole thing apart, how do you separate the sensor from the other part?
    I may have to do this as money is tight right now

  8. #8
    The one. The only. verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 14 (100%) stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 28, 2002

    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    4,021
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 683 Times in 514 Posts
    You can seperate it, but you can't buy it seperately. I just had another top part laying around from a 1g that had a different gear.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive
Jim's (RED3KGT) Reststop
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering