Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: House Hunting Tips

Member verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) sergechronos's Avatar
    Owner Since

Blog Entries
    Thanks

House Hunting Tips

So, the lease at my current apartment runs out at the end of July and I'm trying to find some other places to rent from. I am a college student, and I work (plus sell used parts :P.) I'm hoping to rent a small 2br house with a garage so that I can tow my car and tools up to where I am and work on them in my free time, however I have never looked at renting a house before. While I know that I'd be more likely to get a place with a garage if I looked for something with more bedrooms and just took on room mates, I don't particularly like the idea of trusting other people to pay their share when I've been burned in the past. Does suck cause I could rent a 5br, 3ba place with a 3 car garage/man cave for like 1200 a month and rent the rooms out for cheap as fuck, but still wouldn't trust people to pay.

At any rate, curious what feed back others have on things to look out for/check for. Thoughts on duplexes and such (for the few that have garages.) Suggestions on resources to find places? I've been using Craigslist and a few other web services, seems most of the Apartment Guides at grocery stores are just apartments, not many rental houses listed.
    Mods: 2g 3k body conversion, 2g Brake upgrade, Rota P45R rims
    Projects: Interior sound deadening, 14Bs, forged bottom end, custom radiator and sound mounts

Southernmost 3S Owner supporter Feedback Score 0 93STLTH's Avatar
    Owner Since

Thanks
    I've had good luck with Craigslist, the last 2 places I rented when I was in California I found on CL. When I moved to Miami, I was using Craigslist to find a house to buy. I didn't find my house there, but it directed me to the agent who wound up finding the right house for me.