Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So I single handedly brought our network down last night at work

Large Member
    Owner Since

Thanks

So I single handedly brought our network down last night at work

I was working on a laptop that had been infected by a virus. I copied the data files from the laptop onto a flash drive and then I did a scan of the files to make sure they were clean. Nothing came up. So, I put the flash drive into my computer to copy some drivers onto it.

Little did I know, the file was well hidden and spreads via USB port. So, as soon as I plugged my flash drive into my computer it was on like donkey kong. To make matters worse, I am an administrator so because I have elevated rights it made it easier to spread the virus.

And in case anyone wants to know, it's a variant of the Conficker worm. The network team was here all night trying to clean everything up as best they could be they had to disable the network ports for a lot of machines because they weren't able to remotely clean them.
    2010 Toyota Camry SE
    1998 Honda Accord EX
    --------------------------
    2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L Hemi - Sold (Good riddance!)
    2007 Mazda CX-9 Grand Touring - Sold
    2001 Ford Explorer - AWD 5.0L V8 lifted w/ 32" BFG AT K/O's - Sold
    2004 Mazda6s - Sold
    1994 Stealth RT/TT Pearl Yellow - Sold
    1993 Stealth ES Twin Turbo - Sold
    1981 Audi 4000 4E "The Tank" - R.I.P.
    1984 Toyota Corolla Hatchback - Sold

Forum User
    Owner Since

Thanks
    well if your gonna do it, do it big!

-Ricer Evo 8: 8.75 @ 166 Best MPH of 167. Quickest 4G63 Powered Evo in The US!!!
    -Chris Cessna's Stock short block Evo 8: 9.76@150 Worlds Fastest Stock Motor Evo 8 and First Stock Block In The 9's!
    -Shawna's DD Evo 8: 9.97@143.88 Best MPH of 145 Full leather interior, A/C, navigation, stock brakes, cruisin 9's in style
    -Cory's Stock 7 bolt talon: 10.3@136 No crank walk here...