Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Custom Sub Enclosure - Lots of Pics

Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 0 Silver's Avatar
    Owner Since

Thanks

Custom Sub Enclosure - Lots of Pics

When i bought my 3000gti already had 2 MTX 12's and a box from my Jimmy. Well 4 years down the road i got more and more sick of seeing this huge box in my back hatch and no room at all in my hatch for anything other than 2 skateboards. (Ive been skating for 18 years now and its fun to do when my buddy comes back from the army.) SO i decided to build a box for my subs using some ideas from Ictponder/Isaac. This is my progress towards a box that doesnt take up all my hatch and actually fits in the rear of my 3S.

Before:
    The first day i got my car.

Progress:

I took the idea to have the back of the box follow the natural curve of the rear seats.

This was the basic idea of the box but then i found that the rear seats could not go up once the subs were mounted. I then cut the front faceplate down so the box sat lower. I also shaved the top plate on the sides so that it too would fit lower in the car.

After shaving the plates to the right size i made the bottom of the box, put the subs in and checked the depth from the subs and the rear seats. i have about a 1/2-3/4 inch clearance which is good enough for me lol.

Once the sides were made (which was a major pain in my a** I took it all apart and wood glued each piece. I couldn't do this before because of the way the box sat it was easier to assemble in the car as it was.

Now came the fun part ... -_- I got on the phone with Steve/2fnloud who has some major audio background and told him that although im a perfectionist there were still some tiny gaps that i was concerned about. I did fill some of the gaps with a wood glue/saw dust mixture but i wanted to make sure that it would be airtight and still hold together. Steve gave me the idea to resin and fiberglass the joints and gaps to seal and solidify the box.