Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to tune your 3/S using Chrome and a Flash ECU

I lack color... verified
    Owner Since
    Aug 1998

Thanks

How to tune your 3/S using Chrome and a Flash ECU

Disclaimer: I have used the method outlined below successfully to tune my car. I am an amateur and not a professional. If you use this method then you accept full responsibility for whatever damage you do to your car. If you are concerned about damage to your car, you are better off leaving your car without any modifications to the ECU.

I am writing this essay because I often see a lot of request from 3/S owners on how to begin flash tuning, what equipment is needed for accurate tuning, what approach should I take to tuning, etc….

All the info in this particular thread only pertains to Chrome V2. As I release future chrome versions, I'll be frequently come back to this thread and updating it.

NJ1266 from EVOm posted a thread like this over there and did an excellent job. Much of what you're reading here will derive from his thread and is adapted to Chrome. Full credit for this essay is given to him!

Aside from the equipment and approach, the two most important elements to have are PASSION and TIME. If you want to learn how to flash tune your car simply to make money out of tuning, then IMO you will suck at it. Passion should come first and making money out of tuning is a distant second. If you do not enjoy tuning, then do not do it. You will end up very frustrated and maybe mess up your motor.