PDA

View Full Version : Who here does video shooting / editing / etc?

lawdogg
11-14-2010, 05:10 PM
Looking to jump from still photography to video.

I'm just shopping for equipment at this point ... would love to hear anything anyone has to say. I remember some of you guys have played with it in the past ...

:Seriously:

Amphiron
11-15-2010, 09:05 PM
sony vegas is the best way to go for editing video

CoopKill
11-15-2010, 10:03 PM
I have Vegas and Premiere Pro, they both have their goods and bads. I am no pro or even close. I do know that as far as vid cam goes, without getting into the 2-3k mark the Canon HV30 or HV40 is the best looking results I have seen.

Check these two shorts out using each of the cameras: Watch them on Vimeo in HD full screen

http://vimeo.com/8401900 <- HV40

http://www.vimeo.com/431500 <- HV20

lawdogg
11-16-2010, 12:50 AM
Wow the HV40 is REALLY impressive.

One favorite videographer of mine is Will Roegge ... anyone have any idea what he shoots with?

http://vimeo.com/3812217

CoopKill
11-16-2010, 08:43 AM
Remember my comment about price in my first post?

He uses:
http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-AG-HPX170-High-Definition-Camcorder-Optical/dp/B001E96LGI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1289914913&sr=8-1

CoopKill
11-16-2010, 08:59 AM
He is using color correct in that clip, I'm guessing done with Magic Bullet.

You get a different feel with different techniques such as shooting in 24p vs. 30p, color/light correcting, and obviously motion speed.

I have not dove into video as much as I want yet. I bought my HV30 2 yrs ago for a trip to Europe and have not had the time to accomplish/learn/dedicate to it as of yet. I had a totally different camera in mind when I found Vimeo, and after three people on ther shared clips from it with me I quickly changed my mind.