Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Guage face overlay wiring

  1. #1
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 jbuhrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Dec 2005

    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

    Guage face overlay wiring

    I looked and didn't find anything on this so,

    Has anyone ever wired in a set of these??

    MITSUBISHI 3000GT SL NON -TURBO 6 Pieces Glow Gauge GTO - eBay (item 350413900680 end time Dec-14-10 1701 PST)

    I want to wire it in so that when I turn the parking lights on they turn on(like stock) but I am not 100% sure where to wire it in.

    I am sure it will go into the retrostat harness but I am unsure which wire it will use and I just had to replace the end of the harness due to it being hacked beyond repair..

    So can anyone help me with this??

  2. #2
    Twin Turbo verified Feedback Score 5 (100%) GTOJOE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 92 Times in 76 Posts
    no instructions from the seller? I assume there is a central control box that all dials connect to for their power. It will have it's own power source and it will use the park light circuit to trigger the unit and turn all guages on..... I assume

  3. #3
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 jbuhrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Dec 2005

    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GTOJOE View Post
    no instructions from the seller? I assume there is a central control box that all dials connect to for their power. It will have it's own power source and it will use the park light circuit to trigger the unit and turn all guages on..... I assume
    Nope no instructions, It does have a simple power box with a power/ground wire.

    I am just trying to figure out which wire I tap for that power to the park light circuit..as I looked at the stock wiring diagram and I couldn't put it together...

  4. #4
    Twin Turbo verified Feedback Score 5 (100%) GTOJOE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 92 Times in 76 Posts
    are there only 2 wires coming from it? gnd and pos? if so then it just needs to be connected to any power source that turns on when you turn the parkers on. It won't draw much power so your prob safe with any power source under the dash.

  5. #5
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 jbuhrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Dec 2005

    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GTOJOE View Post
    are there only 2 wires coming from it? gnd and pos? if so then it just needs to be connected to any power source that turns on when you turn the parkers on. It won't draw much power so your prob safe with any power source under the dash.
    Right, But I am HORRIBLE with wiring, I hate it and it hates me...

    Basicly I need to find that 12V switched wire... the easiest one would be the retrostat however I am unsure which wire is the switched... and I am sure that I could eventualy after trial and error find out.

  6. #6
    Twin Turbo verified Feedback Score 5 (100%) GTOJOE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2007

    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 92 Times in 76 Posts
    Do you have a test light or a multimeter? if so you need to test the wires on the reostat for power after you turn the parkers on. So if using a test light clip one end to a good earth then just probe the wire [or the exposed pin in the socket etc] with the probe and it should light up. Turn parkers on and off to make sure this source is only on when the parkers are on. Same sort of thing with the multimeter. Connect the gnd/blk probe to a good earth then probe the wires and check for voltage of 12+ volts. Make sure your multimeter is set correctly as wel. DC volts with the = except the bottom line is actually 3 dots [ ... ] and select 20 volts or similar.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to GTOJOE For This Useful Post:


  8. #7
    Wut wut? verified Feedback Score 2 (100%) TT4ME's Avatar
    Eskiv Champion!Tournaments Won: 4

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2002

    Location
    St Louis, MO
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
    What's a retrostat?

  9. #8
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 jbuhrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Dec 2005

    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GTOJOE View Post
    Do you have a test light or a multimeter? if so you need to test the wires on the reostat for power after you turn the parkers on. So if using a test light clip one end to a good earth then just probe the wire [or the exposed pin in the socket etc] with the probe and it should light up. Turn parkers on and off to make sure this source is only on when the parkers are on. Same sort of thing with the multimeter. Connect the gnd/blk probe to a good earth then probe the wires and check for voltage of 12+ volts. Make sure your multimeter is set correctly as wel. DC volts with the = except the bottom line is actually 3 dots [ ... ] and select 20 volts or similar.

    Ahhh.... when it was being tested with the messed up harness we were using 1 of the wires in the harness as the ground... not grounding the mutimeter to a good ground within the car.

    I'll give this a try and see if it works.

  10. #9
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 jbuhrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    Dec 2005

    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbuhrman View Post
    Ahhh.... when it was being tested with the messed up harness we were using 1 of the wires in the harness as the ground... not grounding the mutimeter to a good ground within the car.

    I'll give this a try and see if it works.
    Reostat..retrostat... you say tomato's I say tamato's...

    :P

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Resources
3000GT / Stealth / GTO / Multi-site Classifieds
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive