Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Radio Antenna Question

  1. #1
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Radio Antenna Question

    So my auto antenna is broke and I'm looking to replace it with a Shark Antenna ( http://www.locustom.com/shark2_kit.htm ). My question is if I replace it with this antenna and buy the 14' long antenna cable can I delete everything in the picture below? If not, what all has to stay?

    Sorry for the crappy pic quality, its off of my phone...

    Thanks, John


  2. #2
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 3 (100%) 3000GTCSULB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    157
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 22 Times in 9 Posts
    You are correct. Let me know if you like it, I'm looking to get another antenna soon too.

  3. #3
    Forum User Not Verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 6 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2004

    Location
    Cape Girardeau
    Posts
    4,850
    Thanks
    363
    Thanked 296 Times in 215 Posts
    why would you use a different antenna cable? Just hook it to the stock one.

    Parting 6 speed
    Pampena 3.5 Stroker, TiAL DR750s, AEM Series2, oohnoo SMIC, DN Hardpipes, ID1000s, Walbro 416/485, aermotive fpr, Dejon intake pipes, Tial QR, DN Precats, 3sx Single Pass Rad, Samco Hoses, Stoptech 332mm fronts, Tein S-Techs, Bilstein HDs, Spec 4+, JDM 6 Speed, Billet shift forks, Pampena brace

  4. #4
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I didn't know if using the stock antenna meant I had to keep any of those components from the motor... if it doesn't than I will just use the stock antenna cable.

  5. #5
    Forum User Not Verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 6 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2004

    Location
    Cape Girardeau
    Posts
    4,850
    Thanks
    363
    Thanked 296 Times in 215 Posts
    yeah I'm actually doing this today, I'll let you know.

  6. #6
    The one. The only. verified
    supporter
    Feedback Score 11 (100%) stealthee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    August 28, 2002

    Location
    SWPA
    Posts
    3,646
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked 534 Times in 399 Posts
    The antenna cable plugs into the factory power antenna setup, so, as said you only need a replacement antenna mast and it should plug right into the factory cable.

    [06-05, 19:29] OhioSpyderman: Brian, finding a woman is NOT the answer, you need to shop for a good VACUUM

  7. #7
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 6 (100%) MADMarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Location
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Posts
    776
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    ^^^ what he said. I got the same antenna and just connected it straight to the cable, therefore tossing all of that stuff you pictured. I like it

    Oh, and almost forgot, tightening it down is WAY easier with a stubby wrench. If you have one now's the time to use it.

  8. #8
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 0 heptone182's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Owner Since
    2003

    Location
    Hell Paso, Texas
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Anyone have an opinion on where the best place to connect the red wire off the Shark II would be?
    STEVE-O
    '92 VR-4 - '99 Front End Conversion - Galaxy White

  9. #9
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 4 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 131 Times in 82 Posts
    I've replaced three antennas. The only issue I've encountered is loss of the "up/down" automatic feature when changing from radio to CD/iPod. With some aftermarket units, the antenna will remain up until the ignition switch is turned off. The factory set up will move the antenna down anytime the radio is not in use.

  10. #10
    JNS Engineering verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) Jimvr4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1994

    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,163
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 154 Times in 110 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BaadVR4 View Post
    I've replaced three antennas. The only issue I've encountered is loss of the "up/down" automatic feature when changing from radio to CD/iPod. With some aftermarket units, the antenna will remain up until the ignition switch is turned off. The factory set up will move the antenna down anytime the radio is not in use.
    I have a Kenwood DNX7160 and it was automatically moving the antenna up/down whenever the unit was turned on so I couldn't keep it lowered when playing the iPod. It does have two switched outputs that can be controlled so I used one of them to control the antenna relay. Now if I want the antenna up I can do so through the Kenwood menus.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Resources
3000GT / Stealth / GTO / Multi-site Classifieds
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive