Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: AEM UEGO for narrowband? Who is right??

  1. #1
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AEM UEGO for narrowband? Who is right??

    I've been reading up on using my UEGO white wire to replace narrowband functions for the ECU, since I don't have an O2 sensor in my dp. I have a 91 JDM motor, harness, and ECU. I've read 4-5 posts so far, and they're split down the middle. Some say I can splice that wire into the ECU, others say I can't. Can anyone definitively say which way it is? Thanks.

  2. #2
    VR-3747 :D Not Verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) futurevr4man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    1,739
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 100 Times in 74 Posts
    im not so sure that you could. the narrow band only outputs a 0-1v reading whereas the aem outputs 0-5v...

    im not saying you cant, but IF you cant thats the only reason i can see. but then again im no 3s expert like some of these guys
    rise and rise again until lambs become lions

  3. #3
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by futurevr4man View Post
    im not so sure that you could. the narrow band only outputs a 0-1v reading whereas the aem outputs 0-5v...

    im not saying you cant, but IF you cant thats the only reason i can see. but then again im no 3s expert like some of these guys
    I was told that as well, and made me wonder as to the validity of it too, but then I see guys saying yes on other threads, and even giving out pin numbers, such as #53. Who is right?

  4. #4
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    623
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    I think #53 is the EGR input to allow you to log the wideband output to a logger?.

    If the AEM hasn`t got a specific "Narrowband Output wire" then you can`t wire it up to the stock ECU as a replacement for the stock O2`s.
    GTO-TT, PTE 1200's, M20, Emanage Ultimate, OS Geiken R3C,
    TD04-16g`s, Maf-t. 13g`s 12.4@115mph / 16g`s 12.5@117mph.

  5. #5
    Forum User Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1999

    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
    You can if the white wire is a 0-1V simulated narrowband output. I did this for about a day with my plx and decided I didn't like the ecu messing with my tune. Did a good job of targeting 14.7 in closed loop though. I run with no O2 signal to the ecu (except wideband to egrt for logging purposes).

  6. #6
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Then the next question is- IS it a 1V? Or 5V? How do you not run lean without an O2 sensor?? I chill around 14-15 at cruise, and about 12-13 at acceleration.

  7. #7
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    And it is "analog output. connects to an auxilary unit that accepts a 0-5V input."

  8. #8
    Forum User Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1999

    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
    You have to tune with a piggyback or standalone to run correctly with no narrowband signal. If you aren't doing that, you will want to give the ecu a signal. It's also a good idea to have an AFR gauge to keep an eye on things with no narrowband. Looks like the white wire is 0-5V and that will not make the ecu happy. The blue wire outputs something, but I don't think it's 0-1V (it could be). You could check it with a volt-meter. You could reinstall the narrowband for normal driving. Wideband is good for tuning, but a narrowband is fine for making sure nothing is TOO out of the ordinary. Best would be to either tune it or add another bung so you can have both signals.

  9. #9
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    I'd throw in a narrowband just to make the computer happy, being your a TT swap using a JDM harness the connector should be right there too.

  10. #10
    Forum User Not Verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It is, I just didn't want to have to yank the dp off to weld another bung on. I have a WB, but is there any way to tune the fuel trim without a stand alone or piggyback system??

    Hey Nick, did you get my pm about that hotwire?? The site was acting all funny, not sure if it got through.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Resources
3000GT / Stealth / GTO / Multi-site Classifieds
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive