Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: just went blow thru, having issues

  1. #1
    VR-3747 :D Not Verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) futurevr4man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    1,758
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 104 Times in 77 Posts

    just went blow thru, having issues

    hey guys. i just got my blow thru setup installed and im having some issues. i have never tuned a car before... at all... and finding info on the older style maf-t is next to impossible. so if you all can pitch in and help i would appreciate it.

    what i have it set at:
    - aux on 8
    - base on 2
    - everything else is 0'd out.
    - the flip switches are down up down down

    i have 550cc injectors, 19t's. im just trying to get it running OK for now then i will install the safcII and see what shes got.

    my issues:
    - check engine light. says mass air sensor. i figured it would be that, but how do i get it off? i have everything plugged up correctly including the rpm wire.
    - its running in the 10's on air/fuel ratios. and when i give it any gas it tries to kill itself because i assume its just spraying a crap load of gas in there. i dont want to get cylinder wash....

    where do i begin? im not gonna start twisting knobs hoping for results so anything you all can give would really help a lot.

    thanks
    -nate-

    ps i searched a ton of threads but most are very old and i would like newer thoughts because the platform has come a long ways since even 05'. i found the maf-t pro thread but im not using the pro. mine is the 2.01 version older style maf-t
    rise and rise again until lambs become lions

  2. #2
    Member verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) B-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    Fowlerville, MI
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
    Check your signal wire. Sounds like it's disconnected and running limp in pulse width on the injectors, which is a ton of fuel for 550s.
    '92 Dodge Stealth RT/TT - Aug. 2012 COTM

  3. #3
    VR-3747 :D Not Verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) futurevr4man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    1,758
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 104 Times in 77 Posts
    when you say signal wire you mean the tach signal wire? its pretty secure, and wired into the ptu tach signal...

  4. #4
    VR-3747 :D Not Verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) futurevr4man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    1,758
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 104 Times in 77 Posts
    after tracing some wires and looking at different wiring diagrams for the cars wiring harness and the wiring on the maft i have come to the conclusion my ecu is not getting a signal from the maft.

    my question:
    what does the red/white wire do on the engine harness? as well as the green/yellow? from what i can tell the red/white should be an ecu signal for pin 19 and the green/yellow is barometric pressure. can anyone confirm or deny?

  5. #5
    Member verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) B-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    Fowlerville, MI
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
    Signal from the maf is what I meant.

    This might help you: http://www.stealth316.com/2-ecu-terminals.htm It doesn't tell you what color wires they are, but you can determine them by the which pin it is.

    Karman Airflow signal wires:
    1G is pin 70 blue/yellow.
    2G is pin 90 blue/yellow.

    Double check those, but that's what I found with a quick search.
    Last edited by B-Man; 10-05-2010 at 07:53 PM.

  6. #6
    VR-3747 :D Not Verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) futurevr4man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    1,758
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 104 Times in 77 Posts
    well thank you for the links. let me try and explain the situation... i am almost thinking i have the wrong maft...

    firstly, im not sure if i have the newer version (2.xx) or the older version (1.3) because my lid says one thing but my chip says another...


    secondly, im not sure what to do with my plug. there are 10 wires coming out the maft... 3 go to the maf, one goes to the rpm signal (i did it on my ptu), one is for alternative fuel (aka nitrous), and the other 5 go to the plug.

    this would be fine, except the stock harness is looking for 7 wires... not 5. here is a picture to help explain:



    my ecu is not seeing the maft AT ALL. i have a check engine light on saying no mass air sensor, and un plugging it made it run exactly the same. no difference at all. my afr's are in the low 10's... so stupid rich. the car can idle fine but spits and sputters something terrible if i give it gas. i feel like i have the wrong maft...

    so i either:
    1. have the wrong maft
    2. need 2 extra wires to be run from somewhere
    3. am SOL

    i know this is a plug and play system... or its supposed to be. why cant i get this right? so frustrating...

  7. #7
    Member verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) B-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    Fowlerville, MI
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
    You can upgrade the chip buy buying one from full throttle. Previous owner probably just upgraded the chip. If that plug is on it, it should work, 2G DSM or 3S.

    More documents: http://www.fullthrottletech.com/atta...2&d=1103666303

    Wires to Vehicle:
    Pink - +12
    Green – Translator frequency signal
    Black – Ground (0 volts)
    Brown – ATS (Air temperature signal, fixed at 80 degrees)
    Gray – BARO (Barometric pressure signal, fixed at 3.9 volts)
    White – RPM signal, connected to CAS sensor.

    Also, check if your light is blinking:
    No LED blink at key on: check power feed to Translator, check connections, check fuse.

    RED LED is blinking: The MAF Translator has internal trouble codes that are blinked out using the RED LED. The codes are as follows.

    1 blink - in RPM mode, No RPM signal
    2 blinks – no MAF signal
    3 blinks – Internal Flash memory problem.
    4 blinks – dial or switch problem
    5 blinks – internal program problem
    6 blinks – problem with saved settings.
    7 blinks – unit detected a reset while the engine was running.
    8 blinks – internal Flash memory reset.

    EDIT: I just noticed in that picture that you have no Pink wire. Does the LED come on when the car is on?
    Last edited by B-Man; 10-05-2010 at 09:26 PM.

  8. #8
    VR-3747 :D Not Verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) futurevr4man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    Dayton Ohio
    Posts
    1,758
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 104 Times in 77 Posts
    well i just went out there and turned the car on. both LED's flashed on then went off and that was it. i didnt start it because it will just do the same thing its been doing.

    it doesnt make sense that i have 7 wires from the car, in other words 7 wires that need an input. and only 5 wires supplied from the maft to give them their input. what are those two extra wires supposed to get? nothing? the two wires (as you can see in the pic) that are getting nothing are the green/yellow on the right side of the pic and the red/white on the left side of the pic.

    the only pink wire i can see is the middle wire coming from the maft (in the bottom middle of the pic). is that not the wire you are thinking of?


    im missing something because this is not that difficult of a concept. i am much more knowledgeable than this thread is making me look. i just dont understand how i can have 7 wires asking for signal and only 5 wires giving a signal. on top of that, if mine really is correct, then why am i throwing an engine light code? it just doesnt add up...
    Last edited by futurevr4man; 10-05-2010 at 10:02 PM.

  9. #9
    Member verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) B-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    Fowlerville, MI
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
    Picture makes it look white.

    You SHOULD have 6 wires feeding 7. IIRC the MAS pigtail has two grounds. I'm looking to double check right now.

  10. #10
    Member verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) B-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    Fowlerville, MI
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
    This may not help, but pins 3 and 4 are both power wires. 4 is 12V and 3 is 4.8-5.2V. You don't really need two power sources for the Maf-t that's probably why one wire is 'missing'

    1 - 5V
    2 - Baro
    3 - 5V
    4 - 12V
    5 - GND
    6 - IAT
    7 - MAS
    8 - Not used

    Did this work for the previous owner?
    Last edited by B-Man; 10-05-2010 at 10:47 PM.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Resources
3000GT / Stealth / GTO / Multi-site Classifieds
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive