Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Logging WideBand

  1. #1
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    CT
    Posts
    481
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts

    Logging WideBand

    Looking into getting a wideband o2 and im also hoping to log it. General consensus seems to agree that connecting to the unused EGR Temp pin on the ECU (pin 53 from what I can tell) and setting up the logger correctly will do it. Ok, easy.

    But will the ECU start seeing that line an assume there is an egrt sensor connected? Or does it ignore it? Would that not mess with the tune or am I worrying too much.

  2. #2
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    623
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Have a read on Zeitronix ZT-2, I`ve had mine for 7 years now and it hasn`t missed a beat. Comes with it`s own logging software and you can use a program called Winlog to view averaged data etc.
    GTO-TT, PTE 1200's, M20, Emanage Ultimate, OS Geiken R3C,
    TD04-16g`s, Maf-t. 13g`s 12.4@115mph / 16g`s 12.5@117mph.

  3. #3
    Forum User Feedback Score 0 GTwizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    I am a real fan of the AEM wide band. It's simple, no need to ever calibrate and dirt diort cheap these days from AEMonly.com. under 2 bills shipped. It also has the 5 volt out put for logging.I put one in Damn near every car I touch. great as a standalone or tied in for tuning. I hate guessing what going on.

  4. #4
    1st ever COTM and COTY verified Feedback Score 9 (100%) green-lantern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Owner Since
    Birth

    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    7,254
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 459 Times in 354 Posts
    I tried hooking up to pin 53 and for some reason I get a 12 volt signal. I haven't cut the wire and checked and see if it's coming from the AEM or the ECU yet but so far I haven't got it to work. I'm not sure if it's something to do with the 95 NA wiring harness (TT conversion) or not.

    Quote Originally Posted by HilbillyHomeboy View Post
    I bet she smells of old mustard and sawdust.
    Jeremy

  5. #5
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    CT
    Posts
    481
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Hmm ok thanks guys, also, another quick question. Does the wire to pin 53 come directly from the sensor or from the aem gauge?
    Last edited by x2percentmilk; 10-03-2010 at 11:12 PM.

  6. #6
    Forum User Feedback Score 0
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since

    Posts
    623
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    It`ll be from the gauge (0v to 5v output), data from the sensor is useless until it`s been processed buy the controller (inside the gauge).

  7. #7
    Forum User verified Feedback Score 2 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2008

    Location
    CT
    Posts
    481
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Ok awesome just checking. Thank you.

  8. #8
    Forum User Feedback Score 1 (100%)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    1999

    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
    I do think logging the way you mentioned is nice. Reason being that you can log the wideband values alongside the other values you need to log through the ecu. I much prefer being able to log with a single device and program. Only thing to keep in mind is that the displayed values in MMCD 1.8 (if that is what you're using) are scaled 8-22 afr. My plx wideband is 10-20, so the displayed values are farther from stoich than the actual values. You can convert these values later using an appropriate equation in the spreadsheet. The egrt sensor is only used on cal ecu's, it shouldn't cause any issues unless you are using a cal ecu, in which case it may throw a cel. There will be no wire there on most harnesses so you need to supply your own. If your getting 12V to the logger, something is wired wrong or broken. I would test the output from the wideband with a volt meter first to make sure it is working correctly.

  9. #9
    Member verified Feedback Score 1 (100%) B-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Owner Since
    2005

    Location
    Fowlerville, MI
    Posts
    1,249
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by green-lantern View Post
    I tried hooking up to pin 53 and for some reason I get a 12 volt signal. I haven't cut the wire and checked and see if it's coming from the AEM or the ECU yet but so far I haven't got it to work. I'm not sure if it's something to do with the 95 NA wiring harness (TT conversion) or not.
    Are you using a 2g turbo ECU? What matters is the pin ECU size, which for 94 TT ECU is pin 73.
    Last edited by B-Man; 10-05-2010 at 10:09 AM.
    '92 Dodge Stealth RT/TT - Aug. 2012 COTM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Resources
3000GT / Stealth / GTO / Multi-site Classifieds
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Event Pages
3S National Gathering
East Coast Gathering
Upper Mid-West Gathering
Blue Ridge Gathering
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Clubs and Groups
Michigan 3S
MInnesota 3S
Wisconsin 3S
Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas 3S
North California 3000GT/Stealth
United Society of 3S Owners
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Forums
3000GT/Stealth International
3000GT/Stealth/GTO Information and Resources
Team 3S
3000GT / Stealth / GTO Information
daveblack.net
The 3000GT/Stealth/GTO Web History Project
3000gt.com
3000GT / Stealth International WWWboard Archive